Data is a Team Sport

June 16, 2017 in Announcement

A series of online conversations examining the data literacy ecosystem.

In this series we seek to capture learnings about the ever-changing field of data literacy and how it is evolving in response to concepts like ‘big data’, ‘post-fact’ and ‘data cofusion’.  This open research project by School of Data, in collaboration with FabRiders, will produce a series of podcasts and blog posts as we engage data literacy practitioners with particular expertise within the ecosystem (e.g., investigative journalism, advocacy and activism, academia, government, etc) in conversation. 

Check out our podcasts on enabling learning and data-driven journalism.

You can join the conversation (see RSVP below) and provide inputs into the research we are conducting. During each online conversation we will give participants an opportunity to ask questions and share their own insights on the topic.

Our next conversation will focus on advocacy organisations and their role in the eco-system on Friday June 23rd at 7:00 PDT, 10:00 EDT, 15:00 BST, 16:00 CEST, 17:00 EAT/Istanbul, 19:30 India  & 21:00 Bangkok with:

  • Milena Marin is Senior Innovation Campaigner at Amnesty International. Milena has over seven years’ experience working at the intersection of technology, data and social good. She is currently working with Amnesty International, leading Amnesty Decoders – an innovative project aiming to engage digital volunteers in documenting human right violations using new technologies. Previously she worked as programme manager of School of Data where she trained and mentored numerous NGOs and journalists around the world to make the most of their data and reach new audiences. She also worked for over 4 years with Transparency International where she supported TI’s global network to use technology in the fight against corruption.
  • Sam Leon, is Data Lead at Global Witness. His work focuses on the use of data to fight corruption and how to turn this information into change making stories. He is currently working with a coalition of data scientists, academics and investigative journalists to build analytical models and tools that enable anti-corruption campaigners to understand and identify corporate networks used for nefarious and corrupt practices. He previously worked at the Open Knowledge Foundation leading the organization’s work on data literacy for human rights groups and journalists. He has an undergraduate degree in Philosophy from Cambridge University and a Masters in the History of Ideas from University College London.

Your hosts:

RSVP to join:

 

Flattr this!