Data is a Team Sport: Government Incentives for Data Literacy

August 2, 2017 in Uncategorized

Data is a Team Sport is a series of online conversations examining the data literacy ecosystem. we seek to capture learnings about the ever-changing field of data literacy and how it is evolving in response to concepts like ‘big data’, ‘post-fact’ and ‘data cofusion’.  This open research project by School of Data, in collaboration with FabRiders, will produce a series of podcasts and blog posts as we engage data literacy practitioners with particular expertise within the ecosystem (e.g., investigative journalism, advocacy and activism, academia, government, etc) in conversation. 

You can view previous online conversations and access the podcast series.

You can join the conversation (see RSVP below) and provide inputs into the research we are conducting. During each online conversation we will give participants an opportunity to ask questions and share their own insights on the topic.

Our next online conversation will take a look at government incentives to prioritise data literacy and will take place on Tuesday August 8th at 9:00 PDT, 12:00 EDT, 17:00 BST, 18:00 CEST, 19:00 EAT/Istanbul, 21:30 India  & 23:00 Bangkok with:

  • Ania Calderon has recently taken on the role of Executive Director at the Open Data Charter, a collaboration between governments and organisations working to open up data based on a shared set of principles. For the past three years, she led the National Open Data Policy in Mexico, delivering a key presidential mandate. She established capacity building programs across more than 200 public institutions, developed tools and platforms to enable the release of standardised data, built channels to increase the ability of citizens to inform data release and started a national open data network of over 40 cities working to improve service delivery.
  • Tamara Puhovski is a sociologist, innovator, public policy junky and an open government consultant. With experience in civil society sector, academia, international organisations as well as civil service and diplomacy, she is constantly finding new ways to bring various sectors together and identify and pursue public good oriented innovative solutions. She describes herself as a time traveler journeying to 19th and 20th century public policy centers and trying to bring them back to the future with me.  She hold Bachelors Degrees in both Sociology and Political Science and a Masters in European Union and is about to finish a second Masters in Diplomacy.

Your hosts:

You can view the conversation live here:

 

Flattr this!